Skip to content

Cossack – a ghost town in Western Australia

February 6, 2011

The 'A' marks Cossack, in Western Australia

I had an opportunity recently to visit Cossack, so while I was there I did a flying scan of the cemetery.  Cossack is basically a ‘ghost town’ with a few substantial stone buildings remaining.  One of these is in use as ‘budget accommodation’.  When I was there, the touristy attractions such as the museum in the old courthouse were closed for the months of January to March.  There was one vehicle in town other than mine.  So I felt somewhat conspicuous (and isolated) and didn’t stay long enough to see the Japanese section of the cemetery.  The sign at the entrance notes that there are also Aboriginal graves, in another section, unmarked.

Cossack was originally a pearling town.  The people buried in the Japanese section of the cemetery would have been pearl divers.  It is located  in the North-West of Western Australia, on a fairly isolated part of the coast.  It was subject to alot of cyclones and rough weather, and the pearling industry moved to Broome, so it didn’t succeed long term as a town.

The little harbour was very pretty and with a few people around it would have been a nice place to stay for a while longer than I did.

The cemetery is small, and the grave stones are very old.  Some of them either never existed or have been damaged.  No doubt there are completely unmarked graves.  Others were marked, but without headstones.

I’d like to go back when the touristy parts are open and when there are a few more people in town.

I will do another post specifically about the cemetery, with photos of the headstones.

Here are some photos from my visit to Cossack.

A pile of 'junk' I found interesting enough to take three photos of it

The Cossack Courthouse

Cossack Courthouse

Another in my 'pillarbox' series... number 3 now, I think.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 8:05 am

    looks so silent. interesting bit of history. I love ghost towns.

    • Michelle permalink*
      February 6, 2011 8:18 am

      I love them too, but it was eerily quiet, and yet not quiet enough. If that other vehicle hadn’t been around, I would have liked it better. I didn’t have much time the day I was there. I’d love to go back and really spend some time exploring.

Trackbacks

  1. Cossack Cemetery 2 « Michelle's Heritage
  2. Post A Day 2011 review – February « Michelle's Heritage
  3. Cossack Cemetery 6 « Michelle's Heritage
  4. Cossack Cemetery 4 « Michelle's Heritage

Leave a Reply

