Skip to content

Letters to Frank

February 7, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

Friday

51 Ward St

Kal

So you are home again, after being laid up for repairs – we are so glad dear, that all is well once again – Gosh! one never knows, does one, things happen so simply sometimes – Your kid brother wants to learn to use the best of materials for his gym, next time – You had good weather for bed, didn’t you? Now you are all set to get cracking on this school exam work – quite a busy few weeks ahead of you all.  Mummy says sister Margaret is running around like a “black eyed susan” too – poor Mum she gets some nasty shocks, does she not?  Mrs Martin gave me the enclosed stamps yesterday – how is the collection going.  They had some very interesting collections at the AIM exhibition they say – they were loaned from everywhere – they had everything there I believe – natives’ work, painting, carvings & woodwork, & they are really clever -Gran says she is sending a few lines in this too, so I will leave the rest to her – Our love to all at No 2 dear, & glad you are one of the gang again – bye for now

love from Aunty

A conversation with my uncle (the ‘kid brother’ referred to in the letter) shed no light at all on what had happened to my Dad.  Either my uncle has forgotten (not unlikely) and/or it wasn’t very serious, and his being ‘laid up for repairs’ wasn’t for very long.

I have not been able to discover what the AIM Exhibition was.  The only thing I’ve been able to find that AIM might stand for is ‘Art in Miniature’ but I have not found any newspaper articles of the time, or any other reference to an exhibition that sounds like the one referred to in the letter.

If you think you may know what this exhibition was, I would be very interested to find out. Please comment and let me know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 9:03 pm

    how exciting- a mystery! what does AIM exhibit stand for? hmmm…

  2. February 7, 2011 9:08 pm

    hmmm when I “googled” AIM exhibition 1950’s Aus I got a result concerning the Royal Philatelic Society of Victoria…and since stamps were just mentioned in the previous sentence, some kind of stamp exhibition? A coincidence?
    goddarn it what does AIM stand for!

  3. Michelle permalink*
    February 7, 2011 9:09 pm

    Ahhh that makes sense. ‘They had some very interesting collections…’ Of course! Would you mind sending me the link to what you found? I didn’t turn up anything like that.

  4. February 7, 2011 9:21 pm

    well I think you were on the money with your art in miniature. Miniature seems to be a term in philatelics and it seems there was exhibitions in the 50’s…
    http://www.rpsl.org.uk/country_a.html
    I shall leave you alone now! no doubt you have already unravelled the story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

