Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – February 10

February 10, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for Children

My grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

Jack Kelly born February 10

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  February 10th – Jack Kelly

Little maid, little maid, whither away,

Running so fast on this early-spring day?;

Perhaps it’s Mamma you are going to meet,

And Love lends his wings to your little feet.

Jack Kelly wrote his own name in Manny’s book.
There are a couple of Jack Kelly’s both born 1908 – Jack A Kelly, born in Perth (1908/1486 WA) and Jack H Kelly, born in Katanning (1908/130 WA).
There is one John A Kelly born in the East Kimberley district, in 1911 (1911/1) – among many other John Kelly’s and three possible Jack Kelly’s.
There are no marriages for a Jack Kelly. A John J Kelly marries a Lucy W Pierssene in 1934 (1934/157) .  John A Kelly marries Eunice I Duperouzal in 1926 (1926/244).
John Kelly is a fairly common name, apparently.
If you think you know who this Jack Kelly is, please comment and let me know.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 8:19 am

    now that would be a task if you were looking for the right john/jack kelly here in Ireland…I think JohnKelly might be THE most common name ever, maybe followed closely by john murphy.

    I remember when I was a kid and I used to think looking through the phone book was interesting. But the only thing that interested me really was how many pages the “Kellys” in Ireland took up….

    • Michelle permalink*
      February 11, 2011 8:53 am

      My great-great grandfather George Jones poses the same kind of problem. I have a sneaking suspicion that my grandmother’s birthday book belonged to her mother first, and Jack Kelly may have been HER childhood friend, rather than my grandmothers.

  2. February 13, 2011 8:02 am

    Hi Michelle. I’ve been enjoying your blog entries a great deal, especially showing some envy for the birthday book (what luck to have such a treasure in the family). Keep up the great work, and yeah you’re doing brilliantly with the ‘Post a Day’ deal. I’d never be able to keep up such a prolific motion.

    Cheers,
    John

    • Michelle permalink*
      February 13, 2011 10:51 am

      Hi John, thanks for the encouragement. I’m glad you’re enjoying the birthday book – it’s nice to have the feedback. The birthday book and the letters were originally posted primarily for my children and other family members – but i’ve enjoyed the detective work in figuring out who’s who in the birthday book. Thanks for commenting 🙂
      Michelle

Leave a Reply

