Skip to content

Letters to Frank…

February 19, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

51 Ward St

17-10-52

Dear Frank

Just in case you may be thinking your great grandma has no manners – best I tell you it is want of energy that makes me lazy.  I really can’t think of anything I could tell you about your great great grandparents but I have asked Aunty Smith if she has a card that was printed on board the ship they came to Australia in – written by a passenger on board to commemorate their wedding anniversary.  They were well known on that ship – they did 3 trips in her – came out – went back – & came out again in the “SS Commissary” – I have a nephew in Sydney is not going to let the name of Peck die out – he has 6 children.  Frank Peck his name is.  I do hope you have quite recovered from your fall – best you be careful – falls can be dangerous.  Lots of love to you all tell Mummy I hope her double wins all apologies frank for seeming so neglectful.

Gran

The card Gran refers to is the same one she referred to in another letter, when she sent it to Dad.  The card was in the care of my grandmother and was supposed to come to me, but it disappeared quite some time before my grandmother died.  She was very sad and angry about that.  Luckily she had showed it to me several times before that happened.

Aunty Smith is Gran’s sister, Alice Maud, who married William S Foulston and then after he died, Frederick James Smith.  At the time these letters were written she lived at 91 Smith Street, Highgate.  I went to see if the house is still there, but the block has been redeveloped and has new units on it now.

Frank Peck was probably a son of Gran’s brother, John Malthouse Peck.  However he could be a son of Thomas Groves Peck.  I will follow this up soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

