Skip to content

Cossack Cemetery 6

March 5, 2011
The sign at the entrance to Cossack Cemetery, Cossack, Western Australia

The sign at the cemetery entrance

visited Cossack, Western Australia, recently and took the opportunity to photograph the graves in the cemetery there.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to the Japanese section of the cemetery, so the photos are only of the European section.  I did take at least one photo of every grave I could see.

I have larger versions of these photographs, some of them giving wider location context.  If you would like a copy of one of these, please comment and let me know.

I took a lot of photos, so I’ll be posting them a few at a time as a series.

You can see the other posts in this series by selecting the ‘Cemeteries’ category on the right.

I thought my focus was not great on this photo, but I have googled other photos of this grave and none of those are much better.  My best effort to transcribe this headstone is:

In memory of John G. Langley

MB [indecipherable] ENG

BOLTON SS SALADIN

Died on board 13 July 1892

in his 40th year.

Erected by the officers and friends as a token of esteem.

The indecipherable part after his name appears to be qualifications (medical?).

Some transcriptions of this headstone give the ship’s name as SS SALABIN, but it looks like SALADIN  to me, and I found this newspaper advertisement for the SS Australind and SS Saladin, providing steam ship services as far north as Derby (The West Australian 8 July 1891 p. 1).

Perhaps John G. Langley was the Ships Doctor/Surgeon, or perhaps the Ships Engineer?

If you know any more about John G. Langley, please comment and let me know.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Adrian Watson permalink
    April 25, 2013 10:26 am

    I came across this post while researching John Geoffrey Langley. You may wish to check out http://trove.nla.gov.au/ndp/del/article/3037810 which is an article about John Geoffrey Langley. It seems that he was known as Geoffrey. He was the son of John Baxter Langley (1819-1892), a surgeon and prominent radical in England. His mother was Mary Agnes Atkinson (1829-1888), the first wife of Baxter.

  2. Michelle permalink*
    April 25, 2013 10:37 am

    Hi Adrian Thanks for commenting and thanks for the information. He sounds like he was an interesting man from an interesting family background. What is your research interest? are you related to him?

  3. Dave George permalink
    July 5, 2013 2:25 pm

    Hi.

    Came across your site by accident while looking up Mary Agnes Atkinson/Langley John G. Langley’s mother. I’m currently in the final year of a Ph.D on the subject of John Langley senior (That’s John Baxter Langley, not the Rev. John Langley who would have been John G. Langley’s grandfather). I can give you a bit of information on John G if you are still interested. Just email be on the address below. I’ll also pass on this site to a surviving relative. I’m sure she’ll be interested. For the record John G was described as ‘Brilliant, musically inclined and his death in the early thirties was a great low.’

    Dave

  4. October 24, 2014 8:39 pm

    Hi, rather belatedly, I am the relative Dave George refers to, above. I have a letter which refers to him as Geoffrey. It also says that he was a ship’s doctor and lost all his hair in an illness and wore a wig. It then goes on to say that he played the banjo and played appropriate songs and died fairly young and was buried at sea. So, it is interesting to see that he has a grave and thank you for the photograph. I am Kirstine Mayall and Geoffrey would have been my grandfather’s uncle.

  5. Michelle permalink*
    October 25, 2014 12:31 am

    Hi Dave and Kirstine. Thank you for commenting and for the information.
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

