Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – 7 March

March 7, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

John Malcolm Banks born 7 March

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  March 7th – John Malcolm Banks.

Vain young person, who may you be,

Turning your head to look at me?;

I will give you a penny, or give you a bun,

But compliments from me, you will have none.

Take that, vain young person!

Another one who does not appear in the WA BDM indexes.  And with a middle name and all.

If you think you know who John Malcolm Banks is – and he may be from New South Wales or Victoria, for example, please comment and let me know.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 2:53 am

    i probably shouldn’t post this here, but my bio-fathers name was Banks, had he stuck around, that’s what my name would probably be.

  2. Michelle permalink*
    March 16, 2011 6:09 am

    I suspect that some of these people I can find no record of were actually friends of my great-grandmother’s when she was a girl. I’ve discovered that the book was published probably around 1880 – which is even before my great-grandmother was born. I’d love to hear from people who can actually confirm this suspicion. But in the meantime, maybe we’re related!! Let me know if you would like me to delete these comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

