Skip to content

Letters to Frank…

March 9, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

My dear Frank

Having your 4th birthday, are you? My! but you are a little man now – we will not know you when we see you at xmas time.  Are you coming to Kalgoorlie to meet Santa Claus this time?  This money will buy you a pr of tan shoes, tell Mummy.  I am so very sorry that your suit has not come yet, only Alan’s but I will send it to you the very day it comes.  I hope you have a very lovely birthday. We all send you a big hug & a lot of love

from ‘Artie’

This is the oldest letter in the collection.  The others are all written around 1952/3.  This one was sent for my Dad’s 4th birthday – 23 October 1941, and is still in it’s envelope, along with my Dad’s apprenticeship certificate and a high school reference.  His grandmother signs it ‘Artie’ which I assume is his pre-schooler pronunciation of Aunty.  I still don’t know why he called her Aunty.  I remember asking him, when I was a child and also called her Aunty – and I think he said that its just what he’d always called her.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 2:51 am

    beautiful hand-writing…

    • Michelle permalink*
      March 16, 2011 6:05 am

      Isn’t it? Aunty’s handwriting was more shaky when I was a child, this is still loose and round, but firm and straight too.

Leave a Reply

