Skip to content

Letters to Frank…

March 22, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

Wednesday

51 Ward Street

Kalgoorlie

Frank dear

I feel you will be delighted to receive a copy of “the Sphere” – special number of the death of the King – it seemed a shame to mutiliate it – every picture is of interest & if  you keep it flat & tell others to, the edges of the leaves will stay tidy – Aunty Joan bought me a copy of  the “London Illustrated” Special – I do not get them any more at the library as they only get one copy now & it had to be balloted for, between one other gentleman and myself & I lost – but I get the “sphere” for as long as it comes, which will not be fore very much longer, on account of the import restrictions.  I am sending a few more stamps too.  How are the hols going? lovely weather for bush hikes just now – but of course you use your bikes – Janice’s holidays are nearly over – she was here to lunch today, had to go home early to cook some teal duck John got yesterday.  Janice is playing in the June tournaments (tennis) have never seen her play – her mother does not go much on her style, she says – Janice is left handed of course, & I guess it is hard to correct them, or give them a tip.  Gosh, it does not seem so very long ago, that your Mum & Dad were in all the June tournaments – well must write to Mummy now – getting ready for tomorrow – have a lovely holiday – our love to you all

Aunty  & Gran

Janice was my dad’s cousin, daughter of John Alexander ‘Jack’ McLeod and Kathleen Ada Doyle.  Janice and my Dad were close as children and teenagers.  I have (or have had) that copy of the Sphere – Dad certainly kept it flat.

My Dad was also left handed, and was ‘corrected’ at school with a ruler over the knuckles.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 12:13 am

    god it galls me to think of how left-handed people were treated back then! Even when I was kid, I remember there was a perception that they were almost disabled in some way, teachers would yell at them for having messy writing etc…hard to believe. I got hit on the head with a book once by a teacher for writing a sentence completely backwards when I was about 5.

Leave a Reply

