Skip to content

Letters to Frank…

March 30, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

Wednesday

51 Ward Street

Kalgoorlie

Yes, Frank dear, will gladly give you the information about Pa’s mother & father – real highlanders, they were, Pa would tell you.  As you will see too when you see where they came from.  Your Greta Grandmother McLeod, was born at Auchintal, Invernesshire in 1841 – your great grandfather McLeod in Lerwick Sutherlandshire, in 1829 – he died in his 90th year in 1917 or 18 I just forget which.  I see Gran has written to you about my grandfather – I hope she told you all you wanted to know.  You will see by the dateon the enclosed envelope how old it is – the stamp is the first air mail stamp between here & Perth.  Gran lived in Perth then & put a letter back for Mac & Jack on the plane – they badly wanted the stamp – I saved the envelopes  & letters – thought you might like one – I still have Jacks – you can take it off or save the envelope as I have done – I am sure Mac has forgotten he ever got such a letter.  Your collection is certainly growing – I must remember to ask the little french lady for some foreign stamps – she seems to get lots of letters.  Must get me to bed now.

love from Aunty

Jack and Mac were my Dad’s uncles – John Alexander “Jack” McLeod and Angus “Mac” McLeod.

Dad’s great grandfather, Alexander Grant McLeod was born in Lairg, not ‘Lerwick’, and I have not been able to locate ‘Auchintal, Invernesshire’.  Alexander Grant McLeod was born on 6 July 1829 and died in Red Lion, near Talbot, Victoria on 21 November 1916 – not quite in his 90th year.  He is buried at the Amherst Cemetery in the Presbyterian section.

Alexander Grant McLeod arrived  in Victoria with his parents and all but one of his siblings aboard “Bride” on 31 January 1851.  Janet “Jessie” McDonald, my Dad’s great-grandmother arrived in Victoria aboard “White Star” with her sister Mary when they were 25 and 22 years old, respectively in 1867.  Angus and Jessie had seven children, of whom my great-grandfather, Angus McLeod, “Pa” in the letter was the youngest.  Angus was born in Talbot Victoria on 7 September 1882.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

