Skip to content

Letters to Frank…

April 6, 2011

I have a collection of letters that belonged to my Dad.  They were written to him by his grandmother and his great grandmother, mostly in the early 1950s.  It turns out my dad was curious about his family history when he was about 15 years old.

This is one of the letters.

Cup night

51 Ward Street

Kal

All hail to Norseman’s Juvenile prime minister!! May your years of office be memorable ones – be true to your supporters & yourself – be broad-minded & give credit to the other side when it is due – they have good points too – though you may not see eye to eye in all things, there will be many points may be, that you do agree on – never be afraid to say so – Have the courage of your own opinions always – do not be one eyed, & think you are right all the time.

It is going to be good fun, isn’t it Frank? & should give you all an insight into the way Parliament works.  We were so sorry about you missing out on your holiday.  this train strike – or the strikers I should say, has upset lots of plans I guess – but the weather is good for your hols, isnt it?

Have not had any Canadian stamps just lately, but will not forget when I do.  I am so very tired & think I must get me to bed.  Hope all are well again after their slight indisposition, though Al’s time did not finish up so very easy, did it – Bye now, our love to all –

Aunty

My Dad was interested in politics from a relatively young age.  He would listen to Parliament on the radio when he was in Primary School, so little surprise that when the opportunity came to role-play parliament, Dad got himself the part of Prime Minister.

I wonder how it compared to his later experience as a member of the opposition, Member for Forrest 1969-1972?  I also wonder what conversations he had with Aunty about those later experiences.  She would have been interested, and no doubt, very proud.  I believe he took her advice to his teenage self to heart in his dealings in politics in later life.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

