Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – May 26

May 26, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  May 26 – Emily Everett

Round you go, skipping rope, over I fly,

Which is the happiest, think, you or I?

I am the happiest, ’tis by my will,

That I skip over you, or I stand still.

The first time I looked at this entry, I noted the large, childish handwriting, and Manny’s adult handwriting noting that Emily Everett died December 1970.  I assumed that Emily was a childhood friend, and thought it remarkable that Manny knew the date of death of a childhood friend almost 50 years later.

And then as I was tidying up some of my old records, and filling in some gaps in my card index and other records, I noted that Emily Foulston ‘married Everett’.  This note to myself made many years before and probably told to me by Manny or her sister, many years ago, tugged at my memory.

Emily Foulston is a daughter of Alice Maud Peck, who married William S Foulston before she was a witness at her sister, Emily Bertha Eliza Peck’s wedding.  Emily Bertha Eliza Peck is Manny’s grandmother.  The sisters, Emily and Alice, and their husbands and children moved from New South Wales to Western Australia.  William S Foulston died in Boulder, Western Australia on….  Alice Maud Foulston (nee Peck) married Frederick James Smith, and thereafter was referred to by her sister (to her sister’s grandchildren) as ‘Aunty Smith’.

Emily Foulston, daughter of Alice Maud Peck and William S Foulston married Cecil Edwin Everett in the East Coolgardie registration district in…..  She died in Perth on 7 December 1970, aged 76 years, and was buried at Karrakatta Cemetery.

Emily (Foulston) Everett was Manny’s first cousin once removed, and her daughters, whose names also appear in her birthday book, were Manny’s second cousins.

Now I wonder whose handwriting this is.  Is it Manny’s childish handwriting, or perhaps one of Emily Everett’s daughter’s handwriting?

If you knew or are descended from Emily Everett, please comment.  I’d love to hear from you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo-Marie Hall permalink
    March 27, 2013 4:55 pm

    Hi Michelle
    Our grandmother, Elsie Lillian (Foulston) Allen was also a daughter of Alice Maud Peck and William S. Foulston. She came to Canada in 1913 and lived here until her death in 1981. We have some information on that branch of the family. We’ve enjoyed reading your amazing research. Would like to hear from you. Jo

  2. Michelle permalink*
    March 27, 2013 7:19 pm

    Hi Jo-Marie
    Thanks so much for commenting! I will send you an email. Its so exciting to make contact with a Canadian branch of the family 🙂
    Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Manny’s birthday book – July 21 « Michelle's Heritage

Leave a Reply

