Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – July 21

July 21, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  July 21 – Alice Everett

This is Johnny who says, “I’ve heard the hen cackle,

I’m sure that some eggs she has laid;

I’ll go to the hen-house and fill my basket–

That is, if I don’t feel afraid.”

Alice Everett was presumably the daughter of Emily Foulston and Cecil Edwin Everett, although I haven’t yet been able to confirm this.    Emily Everett (nee Foulston) was the daughter of Alice Maud Peck, the younger sister of Manny’s grandmother, Emily Bertha Eliza Peck.

Alice Maud Peck named her daughter Emily, after her sister, and Emily Bertha Eliza Peck named her daughter Alice after her sister.  Emily Foulston (Everett) then named her daughter Alice, after her mother.  Alice Jones, Manny’s mother named her own daughter (Manny) Alice, but she was Alice Elizabeth and always called Betty, presumably because there were so many Alice’s around already.

Alice Everett and Manny were second cousins.

If you knew Alice Everett, or are one of her descendants, please comment and let me know.  I’d love to hear from you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

