Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – July 28

July 28, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  July 28 – Grandad Jones

When I have no flowers, I love the leaves so green,

And the dainty leaf of a creeping plant, is prettiest to be seen;

And if I can have flowers, with them I leaves entwine,

So round the clustering blossoms lie the leaves of the creeping vine.

Grandad Jones was Manny’s grandfather, George Jones.  He was born 1856-1862 in Victoria (marriage cert) or Tasmania (death cert) and died in Kalgoorlie, Western Australia on 21 December 1946 (1947/1 WA).  He was buried in Kalgoorlie Cemetery on 23 December 1946.

George Jones with a racehorse and jockey.

George Jones (standing) with one of the racehorses he trained.

George was a racehorse trainer.  He married Emily Bertha Eliza Peck on 16 March 1895 at St Peters Church, Cooks River Road, St Peters.  My great grandmother, Alice Jones was nine years old when her mother married George.  George and Emily didn’t have any other children.

Emily Bertha Eliza (Peck) Jones, George Jones and Alice Jones

Emily Bertha Eliza Peck, George Jones and Alice Jones

George is one of my  longest-standing brickwalls.  One of my projects this year will be to try to get to the bottom of the George Jones mystery.  The photo of George above was on the wall in the kitchen of my grandmother’s house for as long as I can remember.  Looking at it and wondering about the man holding the horse is one of my earliest memories.  I’m still wondering.  As in the photo below, he remains in the shadows, just a little obscure.

George Jones (standing, Left) with his grandson Angus 'Mac' McLeod and one of his great grandchildren

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

