Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – August 26

August 26, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  August 26 – Michelle

An old person once said, “I will try,

A very large bonnet to buy;

The neighbours will see,

And all envy me

This very large bonnet I buy.”

Michelle is me.  I may have written the entry myself, or else my Dad wrote it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday Michelle – you are very honoured to have your own page in Manny’s birthday book. Every year is so celebrated and Manny has made it that way – what a special, special book.

    Sue

  2. Michelle permalink*
    August 26, 2011 9:30 am

    Thank you Sue 🙂 She certainly did make it that way – she’s been gone about 22 years now, but i still find myself hovering around the letterbox on my birthday every year – I don’t realise it till I’m doing it and when I think about it to figure out what i’m looking for, its a card or parcel from Manny – she never missed.

  3. August 26, 2011 3:31 pm

    Happy birthday Michelle. I’m enjoying your series of posts. I think my husband has his grandmother’s birthday book, so I may borrow your idea for next year if you don’t mind.

    • Michelle permalink*
      August 26, 2011 5:32 pm

      Hi Sharon
      Thank you! I absolutely don’t mind. I think thats a great idea.
      Michelle

Leave a Reply

