Skip to content

Manny’s birthday book – November 26

November 26, 2011

Kate Greenaway's Birthday Book for ChildrenMy grandmother, who I called Manny, had a birthday book.  I’m posting the entries throughout the year, as they appear.

From Manny’s Birthday Book:  November 26th – Tony Lawler and Ruth

A very long dress, and a queer frilled cap,

She carries a basket, too;

I’ve no more to say,

Perhaps, though, you may?

I am not so clever as you.

Ruth is one of Manny’s children.

Anthony B Lawler was born in the East Coolgardie Registration District of Western Australia, in 1911 (1911/487WA).  He does not appear in the Marriage Index in Western Australia.

Anthony Lawler died 7 June 2005 aged 94 years in Melville, Western Australia and was cremated at Fremantle.

Anthony Bede Lawler born in Kalgoorlie  on 26 November 1912 enlisted in Claremont WA in the 2nd AIF (Service Number: WX13469).  And yet the birth index definitely says 1911.

If you think you know who Tony Lawler was, please comment and let me know.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate Lawler-Joy permalink
    January 30, 2014 4:40 am

    Hello, I just happened to come across your blog when I was researching my grandfather… who is Anthony Bede Lawler that you mention in the above birthday book. You are welcome to email me about my grandfather. I find it quite fascinating that his name is in the book!
    Regards, Kate

  2. Lorna Bradley permalink
    December 14, 2014 3:25 pm

    Hello. I just typed out a screed about Anthony and Ruth’s daughter, as much as I knew, and then realised that you probably knew all that, as she would be your cousin. If not, I am happy for you to contact me. I would also be happy for Sue to contact me. The last time I saw her was in the 80s. Lorna Bradley.

Leave a Reply

