Skip to content

Cossack Cemetery 2

February 16, 2011
The sign at the entrance to Cossack Cemetery, Cossack, Western Australia

The sign at the cemetery entrance

visited Cossack, Western Australia, recently and took the opportunity to photograph the graves in the cemetery there.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to the Japanese section of the cemetery, so the photos are only of the European section.  I did take at least one photo of every grave I could see.

I have larger versions of these photographs, some of them giving wider location context.  If you would like a copy of one of these, please comment and let me know.

I took a lot of photos, so I’ll be posting them a few at a time as a series.

In loving memory of James Augustus Turner.

Unfortunately the rest of the plate is illegible in my photo.  However a google search turned up this, this and this, as well as other pages referring to this man and his family.

In loving memory of Edward Leighton who died October 31st 1897 in his 62nd year.

A google search didn’t turn up any more information on Edward Leighton, but there were a few more references to the Cossack Cemetery and his headstone there.

Leave a comment